Here are another two pictures of Coole. I am unsure if I have posted either or both before but when placed together they make a very interesting contrast that shows a difference of seasons. Coole impressed and amazed me the first time I saw it ( in the winter) but during the summer I found it so vastly changed it was like a whole new place that just happened to have a feeling of deja vu. Coole Lough, which is a turlough, was transformed into a shallow pool that hardly resembled the stormy lake of February. A turlough is a limestone area with a high water table that becomes flooded by ground water after heavy rain, a unique type of disappearing lake found mostly in limestone areas of Ireland, west of the River Shannon. Most turloughs flood in the autumn, usually some time in October, and then dry up some time between April and July. {From Wiki }

I often find the inspiration behind a piece of writing almost more interesting than the writing itself. You know how some people like to visit places where a film was filmed…

The trees are in their autumn beauty,
The woodland paths are dry,
Under the October twilight the water
Mirrors a still sky;
Upon the brimming water among the stones
Are nine-and-fifty Swans.

W.B. Yeats

The most disappointing part of the first visit was that we saw no swans. It is not just the fact that Coole and its surrounds inspired Yeats, who I have come to admire as a writer, but that ladies and gentlemen of the last two centuries strode among the same trees and looked upon the same lake, that I find fascinating.

